Mild-Mannered Reporter

Default YEAR OF THE HORSE: A Recommitment To Creator-Owned Comics

Publisher Mike Richardson wraps our look inside Dark Horse's 2014 slate, emphasizing his commitment to expanding creator-owned comics in the coming year.

Full article here.

I am new to creator-owned comics, but now prefer those almost to the complete exclusion of superhero comics from the Big Two. Ever creator-owned comic I am reading now comes from Image, but I want to get into some Dark Horse comics. But for the love of comic book covers, but those bar codes on the back of the book!!

Was really loving The Massive, and was enjoying Buffy, but stopped when I switched over to digital. Everything under the sun is on Comixology except Dark Horse. Dark Horse's app was a mess at the time, and having to check a separate app all the time got to the point where I just started forgetting. Now I don't buy anything Dark Horse.

So when Mike Richardson realizes IDW is beating Dark Horse at the licensed comics game the same way Image is beating them at the creator-owned comics game, will they start making a concerted effort to return to their licensed comics roots?

Quote Originally Posted by jumbleweeds View Post
    So when Mike Richardson realizes IDW is beating Dark Horse at the licensed comics game the same way Image is beating them at the creator-owned comics game, will they start making a concerted effort to return to their licensed comics roots?
    I think there's enough room for everybody. As long as they're making a profit and turning out good books I don't see why they have to be number one in whatever 'game.'

Quote Originally Posted by jumbleweeds View Post