Mild-Mannered Reporter

Default THE MAYO REPORT: Marvel's #.1 'Jumping On' Effectiveness

John Mayo looks at December's sales numbers, including the effectiveness of Marvel's .1 numbering in appealing to casual readers.

Full article here.

That's funny, I'm using it as a jumping-off point for Daredevil and Fantastic Four. Granted, I'll get the trades if the reviews are good, but this $3.99 business is just too much strain on the wallet, especailly with allof the awesome Image books coming out later this year.

and NINO and GATG lost about a combined 20,000.

Its crazy to think that Marvel has a 50% drop off rate from issues 1 to 2! That's massive.

Creative teams have to be devastated when their first issue sells less than 50k.

The rates of attrition are also bad. I suppose that's why Marvel has been pushing for .1's and new #1's constantly now-a-days.

It was a really good report. As an economist myself, I can only praise it.
    If any of you, who read this are noobs, read this report and learn, how do you do it properly.
    I would add a little more diagrams and more stats, but otherwise, a very solid report.
    Conclusions are art in itself.

Of course, my professor would probably criticize this report and be right about it, but never mind the bollocks.
    It did what it was suppose to do.
    Last edited by chakal; 01-16-2014 at 01:36 PM.
    Say No to decompressed storytelling!

Bellechere for the win!!!

European Union: XXI Century New USSR
    I am anti-EU

Quote Originally Posted by chakal View Post
    how do you do it properly.
    Quit relying on gimmicks, first issues, variant covers, first appearances, deaths, resurrections, and reboots. Start relying on making good comics.
    #1, #0, #1/2, #-1, #.1, and then a reboot, start all over. Ridiculous.
    The Copper Age is my Golden Age
    My 2014 1000 comic progress

Totally agree. That's why I hardly buy Marvel any more.