Default Brand new to comics

As the title states, I am brand new to comics. The 2 series I have read so far is "The Walking Dead" (typical right?) up until the latest issue, and all of "Girls".
    I'm not so much into the superheroes, though I do plan on getting to them eventually. So for my questions;

Where do you find out what brand new comic series are coming out? Like, how did people find out Image was going to make "The Walking Dead" so people can anticipate its release? I would really love to get into brand new comics, even if you know of some that are about to come out, but would also love to know HOW to find out.

Can anyone recommend some great comics with the dark, nihilistic, feel that TWD and Girls have? It would be great for apoc style, but it most definitely doesn't have to be. (even superhero comics that are like this would be amazing!)

Thanks to everyone in advanced for the help!

Similar to the Walking Dead? Hmmm...that's a tough one.

I'm liking right now Clive Barker's Next Testament. It's only three issues on now, with the fourth due tomorrow. It's not about zombies, but about what if God wasn't the nice guy we assumed...and what if he came back and found us wanting? It's been brilliant so far.

You might like Sheltered. It, again, is a new series on it's second issue about a clan of survivalists who are prepared for every possibility...save an attack from their own disenfranchised children. Really good so far.

Revival is another title you might like. It's a little town where people don't stay dead when you kill them...but it's something other than zombies. Really good so far. It's on it's 13th or so issue now. :D
    Freedom is merely the ability to live without fear of persecution.

Thank you, they all sound amazing!! I will most definitely give them all a read!

For where to find out about new comics, reading forums like this or browsing the previews can help. http://www.comicbookresources.com/previews