Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 207
  1. #16
    Veteran Member Flashpoint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7,454

    Default

    This is the part of that article that leapt out at me...

    Quote Originally Posted by CBR
    The writer further elaborated on Twitter, stating (contrary to rumors) he will continue on as writer for all his existing DCU titles, stating he plans to stay on "Animal Man," "Justice League Dark" and "Green Arrow" "for a long time."

    "Have looooong [sic] term plans for Ollie. Big new mythology, new villains. And [Andrea Sorrentino] has raised his game big time. His best career work," Lemire said. "If you liked Mike Grell's GA run, Andy Diggle's 'Year One' or Denys O'Neil's 'Question,' you'll probably dig my take on Ollie."
    He's planning to be on *all* his DC titles for long runs. More importantly, look at the GA stories he cites as his inspiration.

    Yeah. Green Arrow is going to be f***ing amazing. Believe it.

  2. #17
    The Older Waiter Brave Sir Robbin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,256

    Default

    I haven't read any Green Arrow but had read that the character is interesting. With Lemire on board, this could be a great comic. He is talking big about his bold, new direction the character and mythology. He may as well be saying "don't worry, I will fix this mess." But I will definitely give it a try. I already read JLD and Animal Man so I may as well give this a shot.
    Current Favorites: The Goon, Batgirl, Chew, Alex + Ada,The Sixth Gun, Saga, Diskordia, Think Tank, Archie, Rachel Rising, Red Sonja, X, Wonder Woman, Powerpuff Girls

  3. #18
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    221B Baker Street
    Posts
    18,005

    Default

    Oh damn, I've become hesitant about Lemire, but he's said the magic words there. Will give it a shot.

  4. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Really excited for this! I've been avoiding Green Arrow due to continually poor reviews, but with a great writer and a great artist taking over, I'm looking forward to giving the series a shot.

  5. #20

  6. #21
    Veteran Member Flashpoint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7,454

    Default



    HOT.

    DAMN.

    The Lemire/Sorrentino Green Arrow is going to kick serious @$$...

  7. #22
    Roll up the PARTITION plz Imraith Nimphais's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Fionavar
    Posts
    9,494

    Default

    Wot's more important...I would like to know who will be drawing my I, Vampire...Goddess! I am sick of this comic-book musical chairs game.
    Sun and Moon
    Ororo Munroe...God's own X-MAN
    Storm deserves her very own solo ongoing...unfortunately..."Limited minds place limits on everything but their own foolishness." (aja_c.)

  8. #23
    Veteran Member Flashpoint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7,454

    Thumbs up Lemire's first public comments on his plans for Green Arrow!

    Okay. This sounds incredible.

    Quote Originally Posted by MTV Geek
    How about Green Arrow?”

    It was a sunny day in late July, a few days after I’d returned home from San Diego Comicon, and Dan Didio had called me. I had talked to Dan at Comicon about what I would write next. We had bounced a few things around at the Con, but nothing stuck. So when Dan called that afternoon, I wasn’t sure what to expect. When he asked me, “How about Green Arrow?” I paused. Oliver Queen was never a character I’d had any particular affection for. I love DC comics and love DC characters, but Green Arrow was never one of the guys I gravitated towards. Yet, for some reason, as soon as Dan said it, something sparked in my head. At that moment, I wasn’t sure why, but something told me this was exactly the kind of book and kind of character I was searching for.

    Green Arrow is a character that always has the potential to be a major player in the DCU. When I took on Animal Man, I immediately saw it as a chance to do my version of the classic Vertigo horror/superhero books I loved as a teenager. And, similarly, the first thing I thought of with Green Arrow was a chance to do a really hard hitting, crime/superhero book in the tradition of Mike Grell’s classic run on the character or Denny O’Neil’s The Question comics from the late 80’s early 90’s. Quite simply, I wanted to make Green Arrow a hunter again. A street level hero of the gutters caught up in a world of violence, betrayal and conspiracy.

    My ever growing plans for the book will build a huge new mythology around Green Arrow’s legacy and send him across the globe, all the while trying to stay one step ahead of a deadly new cast of villains with mysterious ties to his past. And I knew that if I wanted to pull it off, I’d need one hell of an artist, someone who could match the new vision for Green Arrow that I was after.

    Andrea Sorrentino’s stark and beautiful artwork on I, Vampire had caught my eye last year when I was looking at preview copies of the New 52 books. And, I’ve continued to follow him ever since. While his work is perfectly suited for the horror vibe of Vampire, I thought that putting him on a character like Green Arrow would create an amazing tension and a really unique take on a DCU superhero. And boy, was I right. His work so far in Green Arrow has been the absolute best of his career. This is one beautiful looking comic book.

    It really is a brand new day for The Emerald Archer. I’ve fallen in love with writing this book and this character. I can only hope that a fraction of the excitement that both Andrea are feeling while working on Green Arrow translates onto the page and you’ll give the book a chance come February when our first action-packed arc, THE KILL MACHINE debuts with Issue #17. I intend to hurt Oliver Queen. Strip him down to the bone and force him to rise up and become the hero he was destined to be. I hope you come along for the ride.

    So, “How about Green Arrow?”

  9. #24
    Member ILoveVibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    510

    Default

    wow that art works for Green Arrow on some many levels...only if the series started this way.

  10. #25

  11. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    212

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Imraith Nimphais View Post
    Wot's more important...I would like to know who will be drawing my I, Vampire...Goddess! I am sick of this comic-book musical chairs game.
    Taking Sorrentino off a book that suits him perfectly and that I have been thoroughly enjoying, and putting him on one that I haven't liked in this New 52. Still excited about this Lemire/Sorrentino mix tho

  12. #27
    Mild-Mannered Reporter
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    28,819

    Default Lemire & Sorrentino Take Over "Green Arrow"

    Writer Jeff Lemire takes on "Green Arrow" alongside "I, Vampire" artist Andrea Sorrentino beginning with issue #17 and dispels rumors of his possible "Justice League Dark" departure. UPDATE: New artwork and comments from Lemire.


    Full article here.

  13. #28
    Member ILoveVibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jabari18 View Post
    Taking Sorrentino off a book that suits him perfectly and that I have been thoroughly enjoying, and putting him on one that I haven't liked in this New 52. Still excited about this Lemire/Sorrentino mix tho
    I am a bit worried that this may mean that I, Vampire may be in the cancellation line...

  14. #29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flashpoint View Post
    I wouldn't hold my breath on Fialkov since he's started working on some books for Marvel.

    Kindt could be like Jason Aaron for DC in terms of how DC helps establish him the way Marvel has built up Aaron's rep.
    I think that Kindt is at his best when he does his own stuff, like Mind MGMT at Dark horse for example. Damn good mystery series, check it out if you can.

    He writes is it Frankenstein at DC, which is getting cancelled, what else does he write?

  15. #30
    Veteran Member Flashpoint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7,454

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ILoveVibe View Post
    I am a bit worried that this may mean that I, Vampire may be in the cancellation line...
    The news of Sorrentino moving to Green Arrow and Fialkov's name appearing in solicits for upcoming Marvel books is indeed ominous for fans of I, Vampire.

    Then again, we all freaked out en masse when Bleeding Cool said Johns was leaving Aquaman--and look how that turned out: Paul Pelletier left Marvel to work with Johns on an unnamed DC title...which turned out to be Aquaman.

    We'll just have to wait and see.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •