Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Where do you go to find indy comic books?

Hey guys, so I'm new around here and I'm basically looking for creator owned comic books. For two reasons, first to see how big this market is and secondly to see how successful creators brought their comics to their audiences.

I'm currently producing an indy comic book series called "The Lost Kids" (https://www.facebook.com/lostkidscom...05064412868242) and would appreciate any input, tips and advice on how to build an audience for it and where to make it available.

Thanks!
    Felipe

Start a blog and keep it updated with art. Page scans, peeks in your sketchbook, maybe website exclusive stuff or if you are an artist by trade a look at your work stuff. Whatever you have to keep people checking back in. That's how I discovered Fukitor and how I keep up with Ralph Snart and any work by Johnny Ryan. It's also how I came to know Song Of Songs The Comic Book and several other self published series and creators.

You could trade links with other small press creators. This is how i came to know Tim Corrigan. Promoting here is a good idea, but I think having something a little better suited than Facebook for people to check out. You could also contact your local LCS and see if they are willing to carry it. My LCS carries a self published comic from a local guy.

Depending on content you might have luck getting it stocked at local record stores, head shops, maybe even a Hot Topic type place. Who knows.
    The Copper Age is my Golden Age
    My 2014 1000 comic progress

Awesome, thanks so much for all the tips, I will definitely take those to heart :)

http://lordtoede.blogspot Scott M Davis's Avatar

get on twitter and talk about your stuff using the appropriate hashtags.
    Pull List: Valiant Titles, All New Marvel Now Titles, Popeye Classics, Haunted Horror.

Diamond's Previews Catalog and The Internet is where I do most of my indie comics research.