Mild-Mannered Reporter

Default CBR: Shelf Life - Aug 11, 2011

This week Ron Marz examines the hot-button issue of female creators in comics, and cites what can be done to support them as well as some of his own experiences working with them.

Full article here.

I've been a professional writer for over twenty years, but a comic book writer for only the past four or five. After I partnered with a multi-award winning comic book writer for my most recent graphic novel/webcomic series, I went online to seek out illustrators and colorists for the project. To my shock and dismay, my efforts were met with scorn and contempt by male comic book fans who felt that I had no place in their world. Most disturbingly, a well-respected veteran in the comics industry and executive at a top five independent comics publishing company, publicly insulted me on a comics forum, his posts laced with a condescending, patronizing and misogynistic tone. Knowing that this veteran was a long-time friend of my writing partner (they also collaborated on a few projects) I was deeply hurt by his words of *advice*, meant to put a newbie female comics writer in her place. He did later apologize to me, privately, and deleted the offending thread from the message board system. But still...I didn't deserve that.

Not cool, boys. NOT cool. :-(

BANNED

[deleted by user]
    Last edited by matthew_lane; 08-12-2011 at 06:35 AM.

Default Excuse me?

'So someone specifically insulted you... Get used to it."

How completely, unnecessarily hostile a response.

"Now I haven't read the comments so I can't speak to its intent. But the one thing I have found is that a lot of talentless would be female art types have a tendency to dismiss all criticism as "sexism."'