Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talking How to open comic book shop?

I am thinking about open my own comic book store & looking for some advice from someone that has been successful. I have zero experience, just a love of comics & graphic novels so I have a few questions, but of you don't have time I totally understand.

1) How many comics would you estimate to open up shop & fill out my inventory?

2) Recommended distributor or wholesale for books & print?

3) Distributor for toys or other novelty items?

4) Vintage comics, do they sell? Suggestions on where to find them.

Or any other tips or advice that you think would be helpful.

I really appreciate any thoughts you pass on. Thanks for your time!!

Number of comics will depend on size of store. Also assume plenty of moderns will find their way into the back issue bins and you'll probably want a storage unit, an accurate catalog of what you have and where, and an online store of some kind, especially for any high dollar items. No need in having money makers sitting around not making money.

Your main distributor for everything will be Diamond. Any odds and ends you carry otherwise are inconsequential.

Vintage comics sell depending on price and grade. Overpriced and overgrazed stuff sits in bins. I would recommend selling all the good stuff online and letting the less desirable vintage stuff sit in the bins for those who browse. Best place to find them is in bulk through Craigslist. Buy out entire collections and other failed stores merchandise. You may need to make some road trips. Buying out collections is probably better. Store owners will definitely cherry pick what they sell off in bulk, and you'll likely have boxes filled with hundreds of copies of Youngblood #1. Collectors will have full runs, maybe minus key issues that were sold off separate, but maybe not.