Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mild-Mannered Reporter

Default CBR: Where The Hell Am I - Sep 15, 2010

Jason Aaron takes CBR readers through a week in the life of a professional comic book writer: namely, himself, as he balances the challenges and rewards of working from home and with numerous creative partners.

Full article here.

Working out of order? I did not know this. How many of today's writers work out of order? Or is the better question how many writers actually get to write in order?
    - JimmyDee -
    I ain't no hot dog, yo.

Thank you, Jason Aaron, for actually providing what a writer goes through during the scripting process. As an aspiring writer, I've never been able to find first hand accounts of actually writing the book, just the ideas that get thrown into it, or even just the art process. I hear so much about penciling, but not so much about writing.

Another great column, Mr. Aaron.
    Live Comics. Love Comics.

"Don't ever be afraid to be a fan." - Jason Aaron

Another entertaining and introspective column. It's nice to hear about a comic book writer's process, which is rare since it's the artists that get most of the attention. I'm also glad that Aaron is one of those writers that goes over the finished comic before it prints; too many comics get published with typos or mistakes in the text or art.

I'm wondering, though, do you sometime tailor dialogue to the art if it turns out different than what you scripted? Do you sometime tone-down your dialogue if the art actually tells the story more succinctly than you script did?

I'm also very eager to hear about this new title that'll be announced at NYCC... wonder what it'll be...