Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mild-Mannered Reporter

Default CBR: Permanent Damage - Nov 11, 2009

In this week's PERMANENT DAMAGE, are super heroes alive and well, or have they become a dying breed, breathing their last breath? Plus: little household disasters and the latest installment of the Comics Cover Challenge.

Full article here.

I'd say that was pretty accurate.

I'd say "disturbingly accurate", but ultimately it doesn't disturb me much.
    howyadoin?
    howyadoin graphics

song of the moment:
    "sao paulo" ~ the deadstring brothers

I've been saying this for at least 20 years, perhaps longer. Once you start deconstructing a genre, that genre is essentially dead. Deconstruction is basically the autopsy of genre.

Of course, you could say the same thing about detective fiction, or science fiction, or Tolkienesque fantasy fiction, and the so-called "urban fantasy" genre is getting there, too, if not there already. The western got there sometime in the '50s or '60s.

I think one of the things that has contributed to the stagnation of the superhero genre is the growth and increasing cultishness of fandom, combined with the fact that the creative offices have been filled with former and current fanboys and the business offices have been filled with corporate beancounters. The comics industry in the US has long been more incestuous than the family of an 18th dynasty pharaoh.

The rise of the comic book shop in the late '70s and early '80s may have seemed like a godsend to geeks, but it just helped further ghettoize a hobby that was generally ghettoized to begin with, which just further helped mix the cult's Kool-Aid.

Unfortunately, I've yet to find anything that really fills the same niche in my soul that comics -- superhero comics in particular, but all comics -- used to fill.

L.