Default More Comic Questions - First Print

Hey all,

From my earlier posts, I think I made it clear I'm somewhat new to comics. At the very least, I consider myself brand new to the whole comic book culture.

I just went to a local comic book store today and some questions came up that I was afraid to ask:

First Print/Second Print/Third Print, etc - Ok, so I was getting some back issues of some Green Lantern that isn't collected yet. The store had the 2nd printing of Green Lantern 36 for the cover price. I then saw on a shelf, the first printing of the same issue for $5. Now, I know the series is going to release 39 soon so 38 is the current issue. I just find it interesting that the store marked up an issue from 2 months ago. My understanding is that when an new issue comes out, it is the first print. Once all of those are printed, if there is demand for more, then they will often times do a 2nd print, 3rd print, etc. I also know that the cover is often times different as well.

My perspective is that they often times do these prints to try to buy the same issue again, since the cover is different and sometimes done by a different artist. If that is the case, I can see why the publisher would limit production on a first issue, but then print more of a second one.

If my perspective from above is correct or close, then why would a comic book store markup a two month old comic by 167%? I mean, do first prints really appreciate that quickly? I could see down the road a scenario that a first print may be more valuable due to their being less copies out there, but I just thinking marking it up that high that quickly seems strange. If you had extra copies of a print that didn't sell, shouldn't you be making them for less to try to encourage stock to clear? OR, does raising the prices make a reader feel like "they need" to have that first printing.

Ok, so I guess with all of this said, I really have two questions: