Thread: JLA decision?

Default JLA decision?

I'm still pretty new to the DCU so here's a, hopefully, quick question...

I recently bought the Grant Morrision JLA trade 'New World Order', I really enjoyed it and found it easy to get into since it was written with the concept of stripping down the JLA at heart. I've tried reading the more recent JLA issues, two most recent issues and a couple of back issues, all from the current volume. I'm finding things a little bit harder to understand in the newer volume, because of not reading much other JLA at all really. I know it might sound like I should read more before I start asking, but I jsut wanted to know if any of you would recommend leaving the current JLA series and just picking up the older trades or if I should stick with both.

Obviously I know I should read more of both and get a better idea of what series I like but I'm trying to save a bit of cash since my pull list is costing me a fair bit each week.

You should read first more trades.

Paradox: "We're comic geeks. The word "shame" lost its meaning long ago".

Blade: [noticing vampire tattoo] You're human.
    Kounen: Barely. I'm a lawyer.

Patton: Now I want you to remember that no bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor dumb bastard die for his country.

The lineup is much better in the old Morrison JLAs. I think you'll probably enjoy those more (as much as it hurts me to steer anyone away from Dwayne McDuffie's work). JLA has just been all over the place recently, with no real story of its own as it jumps from crossover to crossover.

Now with Robinson's Justice League title starting, that might be a nice place for you to get in on the ground floor.

The Central Sca-rutinizer Pól Rua's Avatar

I'd really recommend sticking with Morrison's League work. Waid's follow-up stuff was pretty good too.