PDA

View Full Version : Confused

trex412
03-09-2012, 12:35 AM
Im new to comics, and I would like some direction one where to start. I have a few issues of batman and detective comics (new 52), and green lantern (new 52 as well). I just seems like they are in the middle of a story line dispite them being issue #1 and so on. Is there a starting point so I can catch up.

thanks

MartinNL
03-09-2012, 02:40 AM
Batman #1 starts pretty new I think. You won't see a whole new universe start up or anything, but it introduces the main characters pretty good. If you want to go back a bit further I suggest you take a look at the excellent sticky post in the Batman forum (http://forums.comicbookresources.com/showthread.php?405128-Best-Batman-Comics-for-New-Readers-Current-Titles-Top-Trades-and-Recent-Events).

As for GL, I agree it is a little confusing. I started reading GL too with the new #1. I went back to where Geoff Johns started and am slowly catching up. I suggest you go this route (of all excellent stories):

Secret Origin
Green Lantern Rebirth
Sinestro Corps War
Blackest Night (and Blackest Night: Green Lantern)
Brightest Day: Green Lantern
War of the Green Lanterns

There are a couple of other trades in between, but they are skippable (though good nonetheless). Also check this thread (http://forums.comicbookresources.com/showthread.php?372390-Green-Lantern-TPB-order&highlight=green+lantern+reading+order).

MajorHoy
03-09-2012, 09:35 AM
Your caught in the "we want this to be new-reader friendly" part and the "we don't want to bore readers with their origins for the umpteenth time" thought process.