View Full Version : Warning, WIR site seems to have become infested with Malware!
Bill R Roberts
04-11-2009, 06:41 PM
Hmmm, now this could be a problem with my system, rather than the site, but I just tried to access the WIR website, abd it immediately set of my Anti-Virus alarms on Avast, so the site itself might well be infested. Wasn't sure how best to flag this up, but I figured registering and posting a warning was possibly the best Icould think of.
Hurricane
04-11-2009, 06:43 PM
Hmmm, now this could be a problem with my system, rather than the site, but I just tried to access the WIR website, abd it immediately set of my Anti-Virus alarms on Avast, so the site itself might well be infested. Wasn't sure how best to flag this up, but I figured registering and posting a warning was possibly the best Icould think of.
What is WIR?
Bill R Roberts
04-11-2009, 06:47 PM
Women in Refrigerators..
sk716
04-11-2009, 07:04 PM
Hmmm, now this could be a problem with my system, rather than the site, but I just tried to access the WIR website, abd it immediately set of my Anti-Virus alarms on Avast, so the site itself might well be infested. Wasn't sure how best to flag this up, but I figured registering and posting a warning was possibly the best Icould think of.
I got it too. It's a trojan horse. Probably coming off of that digital web-ring link.
MacQuarrie
04-11-2009, 08:33 PM
Hmmm, now this could be a problem with my system, rather than the site, but I just tried to access the WIR website, abd it immediately set of my Anti-Virus alarms on Avast, so the site itself might well be infested. Wasn't sure how best to flag this up, but I figured registering and posting a warning was possibly the best Icould think of.
Which WIR site did you try to access? The official one is at http://www.unheardtaunts.com/wir/
The original domain that hosted WIR a long time ago was accidentally allowed to lapse, and was taken over by a scumware site.
Bill R Roberts
04-11-2009, 09:33 PM
Which WIR site did you try to access? The official one is at http://www.unheardtaunts.com/wir/
The original domain that hosted WIR a long time ago was accidentally allowed to lapse, and was taken over by a scumware site.
Yeah unheardtaunts, that's thw one I was trying to acces.
MacQuarrie
04-11-2009, 10:10 PM
Yeah unheardtaunts, that's thw one I was trying to acces.
Hurm. I'll mention it to the site owners.
Sabrinaset
04-11-2009, 10:30 PM
I got it too. It's a trojan horse. Probably coming off of that digital web-ring link.
I certainly never thought I'd hear sk discussing Trojans! :eek:
Bill R Roberts
04-11-2009, 10:39 PM
Hurm. I'll mention it to the site owners.
Much thanks.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.