PDA

View Full Version : Thougts on Gears of War

comicvine
12-30-2006, 08:26 PM
So I started playing Gears this weekend and I like the duck and hide aspect but it still feels pretty scripted. I dont feel like there is anything new here?

Thoughts?

Bored at 3:00AM
12-31-2006, 12:30 AM
So I started playing Gears this weekend and I like the duck and hide aspect but it still feels pretty scripted. I dont feel like there is anything new here?

Thoughts?

It is pretty linear in it's game play. The appeal of the game is its visual punch and cinematic spectacle. If you're looking for more options in the gameplay, you can try Rainbow Six Vegas, which allows you to pick several different approaches to the different scenarios.

Leslie Lee III
12-31-2006, 04:28 AM
I didn't like it all that much. I'm at a friend's crib, up at an ungodly hour, and I have a choice between Gears or PS1 games for entertainment. I'm going for the PS1.

The graphics are great, but the design could have been better and I didn't find it at all immersive. The "innovations" weren't really innovations, and I can't honestly say they even made an improvement on the duck and cover thing.

Astonishing X-Fan
12-31-2006, 08:34 AM
One of the greatest FPS of all time.

Amazing graphics, fantastic controls, great cover system, and the multiplayer(especially co-op) is sublime.

comicvine
12-31-2006, 01:41 PM
Thanks all, yeah the graphics are really nice. I'll just finish the campaign and then play online. I'm thinking that may be more fun for me.

Xero Kaiser
12-31-2006, 02:48 PM
and I can't honestly say they even made an improvement on the duck and cover thing.

That's just crazy. You can't tell me you don't see the difference between's GoW's cover system and Splinter Cell's, MGS's or GRAW's or...anything really.

I'll just finish the campaign and then play online. I'm thinking that may be more fun for me.

Hell, play campaign with another person. Even in split-screen it's 100x better than it already is.