PDA

View Full Version : Jungle Action

The Wayner
02-10-2006, 04:52 PM
Now, I'll admit that this is a series I haven't read since the 70s. Actually, it was probably one of those titles I'd just read and throw into the collection pile; never thinking about it, again. However, with my current interest in the Black Panther shooting sky-high, I couldn't resist picking this series up.

I haven't got to revisit them, yet, but I did flip through the pages... and holy crap! This is some good stuff!

The issue I flipped through started with what appeared to have the Black Panther and his enemy having chased each other through a serious briar patch, as they're both cut up and have some serious wounds to show for it. I studied the opening page for quite a spell, simply drawn into the artwork. Fantastic stuff!

I can't wait to dig into this series (especially the BP material), and was just wondering what everyone else thought about this title?

matt levin
02-10-2006, 05:01 PM
The Don McGregor and Billy Graham (do I have this right?) issues of this title are my all-time standard for the Panther. Some of The Best Written, most exciting comics I have. Almost nothin' like'm until Frank Miller met Matt Murdock. Thanks for bringin'm back to mind!

Matt

Dan B. in the Underworld
02-10-2006, 05:17 PM
i re-read the run (having devoured it when it came out, or at least the last 10 issues or thereabouts ... i'm pretty sure i missed the first half-dozen ishes) just a few months ago. one of my favorite series back in the day -- when the mcgregor-graham team gave way to past-his-prime jack kirby's nonsensical grotesqueries, i was utterly appalled & wrote a letter of strenuous protest, prompting a personal reply from roy thomas.

graham, in particular, was never better. bob mcleod's inks may've had something to do with that.

The Wayner
02-10-2006, 05:19 PM